Range Association of Municipalities & Schools Annual Meeting Minutes Thursday, December 19, 2024 – 6:30 P.M.

Iron Trail Motors Event Center

President Pat Medure called the meeting to order at 6:30 P.M.

Present:City of Biwabik; McDavitt Township; Great Scott Township; City of Kinney; Cherry
Township; Morse Township; City of Nashwauk; Ellsburg Township; Harris Township; ISD
318 Grand Rapids Area; City of Ely; City of Chisholm; City of Buhl; City of Virginia; ISD
701 Hibbing; ISD 319 Nashwauk/Keewatin; City of Grand Rapids; ISD 712 Mt Iron/Buhl;
City of Babbitt; Nashwauk Township; ISD 2142 St Louis County; Morcom Township; City
of Two Harbors; ISD 2711 Mesabi East; Ellsburg Township; Fall Lake Township; Spang
Township; City of Silver Bay; ISD 1 Aitkin; City of Hibbing; French Township; ISD 695
Chisholm

(Memberships in bold hold seats on the Board)

- President Pat Medure called the meeting to order at 6:30pm.
- Mayor Larry Cuffe gave a welcome speech.
- President Pat Medure reviewed the agenda.
- Treasurer Barb Kalmi gave the financial report. RAMS finances are stable and in good health. A motion to accept the financial report was made by Koivisto and supported by Mikkola-Rajha. Motion carried.
- Executive Director Paul Peltier thanked all the elected officials for joining us at the RAMS Annual Meeting and thanked all the sponsors of the event. Peltier noted that 265 people had registered to attend the meeting, which included 49 of the local voting municipalities. A brief history of RAMS was given as well as the year in review (NRRI tour, Ranger Reception, Keetac grand opening, EMS taskforce, housing, permitting reform, lobby day, town aid/LGA/EMS at the Capitol, education). Peltier discussed what's next for RAMS: permitting reform, energy, housing, investments in the region, regional and statewide engagement and representation.
- The Keynote Address was given by Dr. Rolf Weberg from NRRI: "The role of the Iron Range in Minnesota's Bright Future." The goal of NRRI is to foster the economic development of Minnesota's natural resources in a sustainable manner. A reaction panel (Matt Grose, Cathy Erickson, Jeff Burgess, Larry Cuffe) gave their thoughts after the address.
- Outgoing Board Members were honored with a plaque for their service to RAMS: President Pat Medure, Paul Kess, Vice-President Glenn Anderson, Jim Weikum, Cal Warwas, Julie Lucas, and Cal Saari.

- The Range Delegation present at the meeting were given a chance to make remarks.
- Members were given ballots for the Election of Board Members when they signed in.
- President Pat Medure reported the election results with the following serving a two-year term beginning on January 1, 2025:
- 1. Angela Campbell, City of Ely
- 2. Dirk Davis, Town of Morcom
- 3. Jim Fisher, Town of McDavitt
- 4. Justin Fosso, City of Hibbing
- 5. Shane Hoff, City of Silver Bay
- 6. Jed Howela, City of Chisholm
- 7. Lisa Kvas, ISD 712 Mt Iron/Buhl
- 8. Renee Loeffler, City of Buhl
- 9. Ron Pittman, Town of Cherry
- 10. John Rauzi, City of Eveleth
- 11. Kathleen Undeland, ISD 2711 Mesabi East
- 12. Noel Schmidt, ISD 2909 Rock Ridge (Superintendent's Association)
- President Pat Medure reported the election results with the following serving a one-year term begining on January 1, 2025:
- 1. Tom Omerza, ISD 696 Ely
- 2. Robert Rahja, ISD 695 Chisholm
- President Pat Medure reported that the updated bylaws were accepted via the election.
- President Pat Medure thanked everyone for attending and adjourned the meeting at 8:30 PM.